Van Buren, Pekin, Cardinal All-Conference Selections


The Southeast Iowa Superconference has released its all-conference selections for both girls and boys basketball.  As expected, Pekin placed multiple players on both the girls’ and boys’ North teams, while Van Buren selections dominated the boys South team.  Cardinal’s best players represented the Comets on both the girls’ and boys’ South squads as well.

Pekin sophomores Beth Atwood and Gwynne Wright were both selected for the SEISC North girls first team, and senior Samantha Wright was named to the second team.  Senior Jessica Horras and junior Madelyn Baker earned honorable mention.  In addition, head coach Davis Eidahl was named the SEISC North Coach of the Year.

In the SEISC South, Van Buren junior Kaitlyn Johnson made the girls first team, while Cardinal sophomore Delaney Ridgway made the second team.  Warrior senior Abbey Rider and junior Shayla Filson, along with Cardinal junior Danae Moses and sophomore Lexi Fullenkamp, all earned honorable mention.

On the boys side, Pekin seniors Jered Bond, Brody Long and Cade Millikin were all named to the SEISC North first team.  Fellow seniors Petie Clubb and Eric Adam earned honorable mention, and head coach Ken Hutchinson was named the SEISC North Coach of the Year, giving Pekin a girls-boys sweep in that category.

Van Buren dominated the SEISC South squad, with seniors Tom Fitzsimmons and Tanner Smith and junior Garrett Saunders all earning first-team honors.  Junior Brandon Plecker and sophomore Will Mertens made the second team, with senior Robbie Laughlin and junior Pedrick Garrett earning honorable mention.

For Cardinal, junior Kaleb Durflinger made the second team.  Senior Charlie Rachford and junior Cody Streeby earned honorable mention.