Ottumwa Schools – Invention Convention


OTTUMWA— Over 100 Ottumwa students recently demonstrated their ingenuity by creating inventions for this year’s Ottumwa Invention Convention held at Ottumwa High School on January 28.

Thirty-nine students were selected by the judges as winners. Winners selected include: Second Grade, Emma Martsching, Horace Mann; Third Grade, Jalen Damerval, Olivia Lewis, and Halayna McDonough, Liberty; and NoahTrucano, Seton; Fourth Grade, Anna Wellings, Eisenhower; and Janelle Eskew and Lydia Swarney, Horace Mann; Fifth Grade, Adam Denniston and Emma Palm, Eisenhower; Meggie Parker, Ava Green, Emma Weilbrenner, Jili Butler, and Alex Renneberg, Horace Mann; Bailey Nelson, Bethany Knaak, Max Thomason, Braydon Songer, Hayden Short, Steven Durr, Meghan Coulter, Ava Howell, Abbi Allison, and Zoey Jones, Liberty; Brae Simmers, Seton; and Brandon Garcia, Wilson; Sixth Grade, Marcus Wilz, Alex Meister, Ryan Eddy, Jacob Madren, Katie Nelson, Quentin Bishop, Ashley Fish, Hasya Joshi, Cameron Morris, Madison Brandt, Alexis Cook, and Tony Cox, Evans Middle School.

These students received medals donated by John Deere Ottumwa Works through the help of Marsha Parker, Division Manager in the Human Resources department. The winners selected will move on to the state Invent Iowa qualification process. If students proceed through the state qualification process, they will compete at the University of Iowa’s College of Engineering in mid-April.

The Ottumwa Invention Convention is presented each year by the district’s Gifted and Talented

Program. Program staff include Dawn Sievertsen, TAG Director; Brooke Gevock, OHS TAG teacher; Heidi Bradford, Evans Middle School TAG teacher; and Breanna Hinmon and Ann Youngman, elementary TAG teachers.


Judges for the event representing John Deere Ottumwa Works were: Stephanie Ellis, Joe Dilling, Nolan Eakins, Austin Jones, Luke Zweifel, Mark Pieper, Anthony Escher, Ashley Sims, Larry Valentine, Tim Scholle, TJ Marochak, Scott Roberts, Robert Naeger, David Smith, Ashley Johnson, Jake Kappelman, John Burger, Dar Fish, and Ashley Noreuil.