Johnson Elected Mayor, Galloway, Pope, And McAntire Elected To City Council


The people have spoken and Rick Johnson has been selected as Ottumwa’s next Mayor.

Rick Johnson secured the position of Mayor with 2273 votes to opponent Rick Bick’s 1026. Johnson started out in front as the first precincts came in, a lead that continued to grow throughout the evening. A former CEO at River Hills Community Health Center, Johnson had been previously appointed to the Ottumwa City Council to fill the remainder of Skip Stevens’s term before deciding to run for mayor after the announcement that Tom Lazio wouldn’t seek re-election.

Sandra Pope, Douglas McAntire, and Cara Galloway were selected as the new City Council members, with 1957, 1739, and 1589 votes respectively. Their terms will begin on January 2. Finishing out the pack were Russ Hull with 1188 votes, Ashley Noreuil with 1120 votes, and Matthew Pringle with 985 votes.

IHCC’s $28 million bond referendum also passed with 2705 yes votes and 746 no votes. The measure proposes major upgrades and renovations to both the Centerville and Ottumwa campuses over several decades, affecting all 10 counties in the college’s region.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments