Harkin announces funding


The Area 15 Regional Planning Commission in Ottumwa has been awarded federal funds.

Iowa Senator Tom Harkin has announced that three Iowa Councils of Government have been awarded a total of 183-thousand dollars to help establish a comprehensive development strategy in their regions.  The funding was made available through the U.S. Department of Commerce’s Economic Development Administration.

Harkin says establishing a sound economic development strategy that unites the public and private sectors is the key to creating job opportunities and promoting a regional growth.  Harkins says this investments by the EDA will help these communities chart a long term strategy to create jobs and become more prosperous.

The Regional 15 Planning Commission will receive 61-thousdand dollars.  The commission serves Davis, Jefferson, Keokuk, Mahaska, Van Buren and Wapello Counties.