image image image image
SQ Track 2018 EBF

Prep Track: Automatic State Qualifiers

By Jason Van Arkel, May 11, 2018

At Thursday night’s state qualifying meets, competitors automatically qualified for next week’s state track meet by finishing either first or second in their events in classes 2A, 3A and 4A, or by winning their events in Class 1A. We’ve listed the automatic qualifiers below, separated by class. The * indicates a district champion. This list is to the best of our knowledge, as of late Thursday evening.

For athletes who did not automatically qualify for state, they can still qualify if their time is among the best remaining times in their class. For Class 4A, the next 12 best times in each event qualify. For classes 3A and 2A, the next eight best times make it, and for Class 1A, the next 14 best times qualify. The full state track field will be announced by the IHSAA and IGHSAU sometime on Friday afternoon.


Ottumwa Girls: Grace Bookin-Nosbisch, 400 meters; Alli Bookin-Nosbisch, 800 meters*; 4×400-meter relay; 4×800-meter relay*

Ottumwa Boys: Austyn Casillas, 100 meters, 200 meters* and 400 meters; sprint medley relay


Fairfield Boys: Landon Kooiker, high jump*

Oskaloosa Girls: Emma Kelderman, 400-meter hurdles*

Oskaloosa Boys: Carter Huyser, 800 meters*


Albia Girls: Abbey Griffin, 100-meter hurdles*; Hannah Isley, high jump*

Albia Boys: Cade Crall, 110-meter hurdles*; Pete Sarver, 400-meter hurdles; Tyler Stringfellow, high jump*; 4×100 relay; shuttle hurdle relay*

Centerville Girls: Ysabella Berja, long jump*; Claire Mathews, long jump

Centerville Boys: Cade Moore, discus; McCain Oden, shot put*; Peyton Moore, shot put

Davis County Girls: Alysa Shirkey, 200 meters*; 4×100 relay

Davis County Boys: shuttle hurdle relay

EBF Girls: Kathryn Gutch, shot put

Pekin Boys: Isaiah Wittrock, 400 meters* and 800 meters*; Chandler Eckley, 800 meters; Colten Glosser, 3,200 meters; 4×100 relay*; 4×200 relay; 4×400 relay*; 4×800 relay*; distance medley relay*

Van Buren Girls: 4×100 relay*


Cardinal Boys: Mason Aschenbrenner, 200-meter dash* and 110-meter hurdles*

Sigourney Girls: Autum Barthelman, 100-meter hurdles*; 4×100 relay*